Logo del Museo del Ciclismo

Baltyk-Karkonosze Tour

History of the organization of the "Baltyk-Karkonosze Tour" race reaches back to 1993. Its initiators were activists of the Cyclists' Society "Sudety" in Walbrzych: Janusz Maceluch, Kazimierz Pisarek and Andrzej Nowakowski.
First race was taken on 29.06-4.07.1993 as "Karkonosze Tour" and its route — 8 stages — led only through voivodeships walbrzyskie and jeleniogórskie. 124 competitors form 44 Polish teams as well as foreign teams from USA, Ukraine and Hungary started in the race.
The patronage over the race took All-Poland Aliance of Trade Unions and its consecutive Presidents — Ewa Spychalska and Józef Wiaderny — were Honorary Protectors of the Event.
In 1996 the race was included in UCI Calendar in 2.5 class and since then it is ranked among the biggest cycling events in its category in Europe.
The years were passing, the race became very popular event and to make it even more attractive promoters decided, since 1997, to organize the race "Baltyk-Karkonosze Tour" (from the sea to the mountains).
In 2000, after liquidation of the Cyclists' Society "Sudety" in Walbrzych, organization is taken over by the new created Cycling Society "Karkonosze Tour" in Jelenia Góra. It is Janusz Maceluch — President of the Society — who becomes Race Director. Stanislaw Kaszuba becomes his deputy.
With the beginning of 2001 patronage over the race takes Ministry of National Defence and since then the riders are challenging for the Minister of National Defence Cup.
In twelve years history of the race were participating in and winning the "Baltyk-Karkonosze Tour" such cycling celebrities as: Radoslaw Romanik, Andrzej Sypytkowski, Raimondas Rumsas, Piotr Chmielewski, Robert Radosz, Piotr Przydzial, Aleksander Klimenko, Ondrej Sosenka, Piotr Wadecki, Christian Lademan, Bogdan Bondariew, Tomas Konecny, Frantisek Trkal, Slawomir Chrzanowski, Jacek Mickiewicz, Grzegorz Rosolinski, Marcin Gebka, Grzegorz Gronkiewicz, Piotr Mazur, Slawomir Kohut or Cezary Zamana.
Since nearly 10 years all Polish professional teams and foreign teams from Switzerland, The Netherlands, Germany, Slovakia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ukraine, Russia, Italy and Japan are taking part in the race.
Within 1993-2004 sponsors of the race were, among others, such companies as: OPZZ, Totalizator Sportowy, Druk-Pol Warszawa, Orlen, Browar Bosman, Browar Piast, PZU, Bank BGZ, FSO-DAEWOO, Jelfa, Polfa Kutno, Impel, KWB Turów, Elektrownia Turów, Paola Wroclaw, Zaklady Miesne Mróz, Geovita,
Krajowy Zwiazek Rolników, Kólek i Organizacji Rolniczych.

from "http://www.baltyk-karkonosze.com/race/matrix.php?name=main/en/3&dir=history&f1=0&f2=0&f3=2#2"